Fifth Annual Larry Day Vocal Competition

Mar 25 2:00 PM


Holsclaw Hall
1017 N Olive Rd
Tucson, AZ 85721-0004



Contact Information

(520) 621-1655

Download Event Program

The University of Arizona Fred Fox School of Music Voice and Opera Theater presents the Fifth Annual Larry Day Memorial Vocal Competition. This free-admission event will take place on Saturday, March 25, 2017 at 2:00 p.m. in Holsclaw Hall. The competition is open to countertenor, tenor, baritone and bass voice majors enrolled as a junior or above.

Judges will award generous cash prizes to the student winners. These awards are given in memory of Professor Emeritus Larry Day who taught voice and opera theater at the University of Arizona. Many students benefited from his expertise, passion, kindness and patience. His professional singing experiences include leading roles with Minneapolis, Denver and Arizona Opera, soloist with symphonies in Minneapolis, Rochester, Cedar Rapids, Sioux City, Denver, Billings, Ft. Collins, Tucson, Phoenix and Winfield, Kansas. Directing experiences include major oratorios with orchestras, operas and church choir. He was actively involved in many organizations including National Association of Teachers of Singing and National Opera Association (National president 1975-77).

Past winners of the Larry Day Vocal Competition:

2016 Winners:
First Prize: Kyle DeGraff
Second Prize: Antonio Cruz
Third Prize: Joseph Gouge
Fourth Prize: Brian McNiff

2015 Winners:
First Prize: Steven Warner
Second Prize: Brian McNiff
Third Prize (tie): Bryce Tomlin
Third Prize (tie): Joseph Gouge

2014 Winners:
First Prize: Seth Kershisnik
Second Prize (tie): Stephen Warner
Second Prize (tie): Humberto Borboa
Third Prize: Brian Mcniff
Fourth Prize: Alejandro Bañuelos

2013 Winners:
First Prize: Humberto Borboa Beltrán
Prize Recipients: Alejandro Bañuelos, Brandon Dale, Olman Alfaro, Bryce Rodriguez and Charles Hamilton.