Auditions

Undergraduate Audition Information

There are two methods by which you can audition:

1.  It is strongly suggested that all prospective students audition in person. No audition can be scheduled before you have applied to both The University of Arizona (UA Admissions) and the Fred Fox School of Music (Acceptd).

2.  If a prospective undergraduate student lives further than 200 miles from The University of Arizona campus, he or she may opt to submit a CD/DVD/MP3/YouTube to the Fred Fox School of Music via Acceptd.

  • • Please see audition repertoire requirements for your area.
  • • Audition materials will not be returned.
  • • Please do not send the audition materials directly to the professor.

If you are not able to upload your audition materials to the Acceptd website, please send them to the address below:

The University of Arizona
Fred Fox School of Music
Office of Student Services
Undergraduate Audition Material
1017 N. Olive Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85721

Undergraduate Audition Dates

No audition can be scheduled before you have applied to both The University of Arizona (UA Admissions) and the Fred Fox School of Music (Acceptd). To schedule an audition please contact David McGuiggan.  Scholarship priority for undergraduate students applying for Fall 2017 will be given to those students who audition by March 11, 2017.

  • Friday, October 28, 2016 - VOICE ONLY
    (in conjunction with UA High School Honor Choir)
    UA Campus Fred Fox School of Music Building
    Tucson, AZ
    Deadline to schedule the audition: Wednesday, October 26, 5:00pm AST
  • Thursday, January 5, 2017 - WOODWINDS/BRASS/PERCUSSION ONLY
    (in conjunction with UA High School Honor Band)
    UA Campus Fred Fox School of Music Building
    Tucson, AZ
    Deadline to schedule the audition: Monday, January 2, 5:00pm AST
  • Saturday, February 4, 2017 - ALL INSTRUMENTS AND VOICE
    UA Campus Fred Fox School of Music Building
    Tucson, AZ
    Deadline to schedule the audition: Wednesday, February 1, 5:00pm AST
  • Saturday, February 25, 2017 ALL INSTRUMENTS AND VOICE
    UA Campus Fred Fox School of Music Building
    Tucson, AZ
    Deadline to schedule the audition: Wednesday, February 22, 5:00pm AST
  • Saturday, March 11, 2017 - ALL INSTRUMENTS AND VOICE (EXCEPT PERCUSSION)
    Camelback Bible Church
    3900 East Stanford Drive
    Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
    Deadline to schedule the audition: Wednesday, March 8, 5:00pm AST

If you missed the scheduled audition dates above but would still like the opportunity to audition for admission, please email David McGuiggan.

Audition Repertoire and Requirements (Graduate and Undergraduate)

For information about specific audition repertoire and requirements by instrument, please visit the Audition Repertoire and Requirements page.

Graduate Audition Information

There are two methods by which you can audition:

1. It is strongly suggested that all prospective students audition in person. No audition can be scheduled before you have applied to both The University of Arizona (UA GradApp) and the Fred Fox School of Music (Acceptd).

  • • You will need to contact your studio professor directly to schedule a date and a time (see the studio list at the bottom of this page).
  • • Please see audition repertoire requirements for your area.

2. Some professors allow students to audition via CD/DVD/MP3/YouTube.  Please contact your studio professor (see the studio list at the bottom of this page) to ascertain their preferred method for auditioning.  All audition materials should be submitted to the Fred Fox School of Music via Acceptd.

  • • Please see audition repertoire requirements for your area.
  • • Audition materials will not be returned.
  • • Please do not send the audition materials directly to the professor.

3. Audition materials for graduate students applying to music education include the following:

  • • Letters of Intent
  • • Resume/CV
  • • Writing Sample
  • • 3 letters of reference

In addition, those applying for a Graduate Teaching Assistantship (GTA) position need to submit a teaching video.  A group teaching situation is preferred.  The teaching episode should be a minimum of 20 minutes in length but not to exceed 40 minutes.

If you are not able to upload your audition materials to the Acceptd website, please send them to the address below:

The University of Arizona
Fred Fox School of Music
Office of Student Services
Graduate Audition Material
1017 N. Olive Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85721

AREA PROFESSOR PHONE EMAIL ADDRESS
Bands - Athletic Chad Shoopman 520-621-1683 shoopmac@email.arizona.edu
Bands - Concert Chad Nicholson 520-621-7024 crnichol@email.arizona.edu
Bassoon William Dietz 520-621-3088 wdietz@email.arizona.edu
Cello Theodore Buchholz 520-621-7012 buchholz@email.arizona.edu
Choral Bruce Chamberlain 520-621-9929 bbc@email.arizona.edu
Clarinet Jackie Glazier 520-621-2002 jackieglazier@email.arizona.edu
Conducting - Choral Bruce Chamberlain 520-621-9929 bbc@email.arizona.edu
Conducting - Orchestra Thomas Cockrell 520-621-7028 cockrell@email.arizona.edu
Conducting - Wind Chad Nicholson 520-621-7024 crnichol@email.arizona.edu
Double Bass Philip Alejo 520-621-5822 palejo@email.arizona.edu
Euphonium Matt Tropman 520-621-2057 tropman@email.arizona.edu
Ethnomusicology Janet Sturman 520-621-1255 sturman@email.arizona.edu
Flute Brian Luce 520-621-7015 bluce@email.arizona.edu
Guitar Thomas Patterson 520-621-1157 rtp@email.arizona.edu
Harp Carrol McLaughlin 520-621-1592 cmclaugh@email.arizona.edu
Horn Daniel Katzen 520-621-1492 dkatzen@email.arizona.edu
Jazz Angelo Versace 520-621-7021 aversace@email.arizona.edu
Music Composition Dan Asia 520-621-7020 asia@email.arizona.edu
Music Education Don Hamann 520-621-7470 dhamann@email.arizona.edu
Music History Jay Rosenblatt 520-621-1120 jrosenbl@email.arizona.edu
Music Theory Boyd Pomeroy 520-621-2254 pomeroy@email.arizona.edu
Oboe Sara Fraker 520-626-2811 sarafraker@email.arizona.edu
Organ Pamela Decker 520-621-1389 pdecker@email.arizona.edu
Percussion Norm Weinberg 520-626-7055 nweinber@email.arizona.edu
Piano John Milbauer 520-621-9928 milbauer@email.arizona.edu
Saxophone Eddie Goodman 520-621-3080 edgoodman@email.arizona.edu
Trombone Moisés Paiewonsky 520-621-7021 mpaiewon@email.arizona.edu
Trumpet Ryan Darke 520-621-1348 darke@email.arizona.edu
Tuba Matt Tropman 520-621-2057 tropman@email.arizona.edu
Viola Hong-Mei Xiao 520-621-1410 hmx@email.arizona.edu
Violin Timothy Kantor 520-621-1655 tkantor@email.arizona.edu
Voice Kristin Dauphinais 520-621-7017 kdauphin@email.arizona.edu