Auditions

Undergraduate Audition Information

There are two methods by which you can audition:

1.  It is strongly suggested that all prospective students audition in person. No audition can be scheduled before you have applied to both The University of Arizona (UA Admissions) and the School of Music (Acceptd).

2.  If a prospective undergraduate student lives further than 200 miles from The University of Arizona campus, he or she may opt to submit a CD/DVD/MP3/YouTube to the School of Music via Acceptd.

  • • Please see audition repertoire requirements for your area.
  • • Audition materials will not be returned.
  • • Please do not send the audition materials directly to the professor.

If you are not able to upload your audition materials to the Acceptd website, please send them to the address below:

The University of Arizona
School of Music
Office of Student Services
Undergraduate Audition Material
1017 N. Olive Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85721

Undergraduate Audition Dates

No audition can be scheduled before you have applied to both The University of Arizona (UA Admissions) and the School of Music (Acceptd). To schedule an audition please contact David McGuiggan.  Scholarship priority for undergraduate students applying for fall 2014 will be given to those students who audition by March 15, 2014.

  • Saturday, October 26, 2013
  • Thursday, January 9, 2014
    Brass, Percussion and Woodwinds only
  • Saturdays, February 8, 2014 and March 8, 2014
    All instruments and voice
  • Saturday, March 15, 2014 - IN SCOTTSDALE, ARIZONA
    All instruments and voice
  • Saturday, March 29, 2014 – LAST DATE FOR SCHOLARSHIP CONSIDERATION
    All instruments and voice

If you missed the scheduled audition dates above but would still like the opportunity to audition for admission, please email David McGuiggan.

Audition Repertoire and Requirements (Graduate and Undergraduate)

For information about specific audition repertoire and requirements by instrument, please visit the Audition Repertoire and Requirements page.

Graduate Audition Information

There are two methods by which you can audition:

1. It is strongly suggested that all prospective students audition in person. No audition can be scheduled before you have applied to both The University of Arizona (UA GradApp) and the School of Music (Acceptd).

  • • You will need to contact your studio professor directly to schedule a date and a time (see the studio list at the bottom of this page).
  • • Please see audition repertoire requirements for your area.

2. Some professors allow students to audition via CD/DVD/MP3/YouTube.  Please contact your studio professor (see the studio list at the bottom of this page) to ascertain their preferred method for auditioning.  All audition materials should be submitted to the School of Music via Acceptd.

  • • Please see audition repertoire requirements for your area.
  • • Audition materials will not be returned.
  • • Please do not send the audition materials directly to the professor.

3. Audition materials for graduate students applying to music education include the following:

  • • Letters of Intent
  • • Resume/CV
  • • Writing Sample
  • • 3 letters of reference

In addition, those applying for a Graduate Teaching Assistantship (GTA) position need to submit a teaching video.  A group teaching situation is preferred.  The teaching episode should be a minimum of 20 minutes in length but not to exceed 40 minutes.

If you are not able to upload your audition materials to the Acceptd website, please send them to the address below:

The University of Arizona
School of Music
Office of Student Services
Graduate Audition Material
1017 N. Olive Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85721

AREA PROFESSOR PHONE EMAIL ADDRESS
Band - Athletic Jay Rees 520-621-1683 jrees@email.arizona.edu
Bands - Concert Gregg Hanson 520-621-7024 hansong@u.arizona.edu
Bassoon William Dietz 520-621-3088 wdietz@u.arizona.edu
Cello Matthew Spieker 520-621-5942 mspieker@email.arizona.edu
Choral Bruce Chamberlain 520-621-9929 bbc@u.arizona.edu
Clarinet Jerry Kirkbride 520-621-2002 jerryk@u.arizona.edu
Conducting - Choral Bruce Chamberlain 520-621-9929 bbc@u.arizona.edu
Conducting - Orchestra Thomas Cockrell 520-621-7028 cockrell@u.arizona.edu
Conducting - Wind Gregg Hanson 520-621-7024 hansong@u.arizona.edu
Double Bass Philip Alejo 520-621-5822 palejo@email.arizona.edu
Euphonium Kelly Thomas 520-621-2057 kgthomas@email.arizona.edu
Ethnomusicology Janet Sturman 520-621-1255 sturman@email.arizona.edu
Flute Brian Luce 520-621-7015 bluce@u.arizona.edu
Guitar Thomas Patterson 520-621-1157 rtp@u.arizona.edu
Harp Carrol McLaughlin 520-621-1592 cmclaugh@u.arizona.edu
Horn Daniel Katzen 520-621-1492 dkatzen@u.arizona.edu
Jazz Moisés Paiewonsky 520-621-7021 mpaiewon@email.arizona.edu
Music Composition Dan Asia 520-621-7020 asia@u.arizona.edu
Music Education Shelly Cooper 520-621-7470 sccooper@email.arizona.edu
Music History Jay Rosenblatt 520-621-1120 jrosenbl@email.arizona.edu
Music Theory Boyd Pomeroy 520-621-2254 pomeroy@email.arizona.edu
Oboe Sara Fraker 520-626-2811 sarafraker@email.arizona.edu
Organ Pamela Decker 520-621-1389 pdecker@u.arizona.edu
Percussion Norm Weinberg 520-626-7055 nweinber@u.arizona.edu
Piano John Milbauer 520-621-9928 milbauer@email.arizona.edu
Saxophone Kelland Thomas 520-621-3080 kelland@email.arizona.edu
Trombone Moisés Paiewonsky 520-621-7021 mpaiewon@email.arizona.edu
Trumpet Edward Reid 520-621-1348 ereid@u.arizona.edu
Tuba Kelly Thomas 520-621-2057 kgthomas@email.arizona.edu
Viola Hong-Mei Xiao 520-621-1410 hmx@u.arizona.edu
Violin Lauren Roth 520-621-1655 laurenroth@gmail.com
Voice Kristin Dauphinais 520-621-7017 kdauphin@email.arizona.edu